Michigan Technological University
 Research in Mechanical Engineering -- Engineering Mechanics

Department of
Mechanical Engineering -- Engineering Mechanics
Michigan Technological University
1400 Townsend Drive
Houghton, MI USA 49931-1295
Phone: 906.487.2551 Fax: 906.487.2822



Research Thrusts
Engineering Education Innovation
As the world continues to change with globalization and technological advances so must engineering education p...
Advanced Power System
In the face of an impending energy crisis, the Advanced Power Systems research center is exploring alternative...
Space Systems
The Space Systems Research group is creating innovative electric propulsion systems to make space travel more ...
Mechanics of Multi-scale Materials
The Mechanics of Multi-scale Materials research group uncovers the relationships of structures across the full...
Multidisciplinary Engineered Dynamic Systems
The Multidisciplinary Engineered Dynamic Systems research is collaborative research at the interface of engine...
Multi-scale Sensors and Systems
The Multi-scale Sensors and Systems Research Group specializes in the design, fabrication, integration, and te...
Agile Interconnected Microgrids (AIM)
Agile Interconnected Microgrids (AIM) is a multidisciplinary research center with a broad research goal of s...
Sustainable Manufacturing and Design
Sustainable Manufacturing and Design research efforts are focused on sustainability issues related to design a...
Research News
Dec 11, 2013: Research News Summary
Jun 30, 2011: Michigan Tech MuSES Lab Researchers Reveal the Power of the Geometry in Microchannel
May 17, 2011: Dr. Sheryl Sorby Hornored with Orthogonal Medal
Apr 21, 2011: Dr. Gregory Odegard Selected to Receive 2011 SAE Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award
Apr 10, 2011: Dr. Sheryl Sorby Chosen to receive the 2011 ASEE Sharon Keillar Award for Women in Engineering Education
Nov 12, 2010: SAE International Chats with the Experts - Progress and Challenges in Diesel Engine Development
Nov 2, 2010: Dr. Jeffrey D. Naber Elected to the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Fellow Grade
Jun 29, 2010: Amitahb Narain Receives Funding from the National Science Foundation
Jun 24, 2010: Engineering Society of Detroit Honors Jeff Naber
May 25, 2010: PhD student Ezequiel Medici and his faculty advisor Dr. Jeffrey Allen have been awarded the 2010 Bhakta Rath Research Award.
May 19, 2010: Advanced Power Systems Research Center Awarded Michigan Tech Research Excellence Grant
Apr 27, 2010: Michigan/AFRL Center of Excellence in Electric Propulsion (MACEEP) Established
Mar 18, 2010: Jeffrey Naber Receives 2010 SAE Forest R. McFarland Award
Mar 3, 2010: Alexandru Herescu selected to receive a 2010 DeVlieg Foundation Fellowship
Dec 15, 2009: Post Doctoral Research Appointment in Diesel Engine Aftertreatment System Modeling and State Estimation
Nov 24, 2009: Michigan Department of Energy, Labor & Economic Growth Awards Biomass Demonstration Project
Nov 10, 2009: Paper selected for oral presentation at the 23rd IEEE International Conference on Micro Electro Mechanical Systems (MEMS 2010) in Hong Kong in January 2010.
Oct 29, 2009: Professor Emeritus William R. Shapton Elected as Fellow in SAE
Oct 15, 2009: Michigan Tech Researchers Lead Project to Develop Cleaner, More Efficient Diesel Engines
Sep 20, 2009: PhD student Ezequiel Medici Recieves Travel Grant to Present His Research Results to The Electrochemical Society in Vienna
Sep 8, 2009: PhD Student Graduate Research Assistantships in Diesel Engine Aftertreatment System Modeling and State Estimation
Aug 10, 2009: Michigan Tech, AVL and ESD to Provide Free Training for MI's Auto Engineers
Jun 5, 2009: Tammy Haut Donahue Selected to Participate in Women's International Research Engineering Summit in Barcelona
Apr 12, 2009: Michigan Space Grant Consortium Grants Announced
Apr 10, 2009: Ossama Abdelkhalik to represent Michigan Tech at the Universities Space Research Association's Council of Institutions Region VI meeting April 29-30
Apr 8, 2009: Sheryl Sorby Elected Fellow of the Society for Engineering Education
Mar 27, 2009: John Johnson Testified March 24 before the House Subcommittee on Energy and Environment of the Committee on Science and Technology
Feb 19, 2009: Roshan D'Souza Wins National Science Foundation Career Award
Feb 12, 2009: Laid-off Engineers Learning New Skills: Classes Focus on Hybrids and Electrics
Jan 22, 2009: Dr. Jeffrey S. Allen selected to receive a 2009 Ralph R. Teetor Educational Award.
Dec 8, 2008: PhD Candidate Mark Greip Awarded Nanotechnology Paper
Nov 21, 2008: Michigan Tech Receives $1.5 Million Grant for Developing Flex-Fuel Hybrid Technologies
Nov 14, 2008: From Xbox to T-Cells: Michigan Tech Researchers Borrow Video Game Technology to Model Human Biology
Nov 4, 2008: John Johnson Invited Member to National Research Council Committee on Fuel Economy of Medium- and Heavy-Duty Vehicles
Oct 15, 2008: Bo Chen Awarded Best Paper in Computational Methods and Software at Conference
Aug 1, 2008: Faculty Awarded Grants
Aug 1, 2008: MuSTI: Multi-Scale Technologies Institute
May 28, 2008: MEEM Faculty Receive 2008 HP Technology for Teaching Grant
Mar 30, 2007: Michigan Tech Awarded $897,000 for Automotive Fuel Cell Research
Mar 29, 2007: Helton, Brad King Receive Major Defense Department Grants
Mar 1, 2007: Improving Fuel Cell Performance and Durability
Feb 1, 2007: Improved MEMS Chemical Vapor Sensors
Feb 1, 2007: High Pressure Combustion Laboratory
Apr 27, 2006: Michigan Tech's Center for Environmentally Benign Functional Materials and the Sustainable Futures Institute
Apr 27, 2006: Researchers receive $1.7 million
Jun 14, 2005: Subhash Receives 2005 Research Award
Oct 5, 2004: Odegard Earns NASA Grant
Sep 20, 2004: Dr. Lyon B. King wins Presidential Award
Sep 1, 2004: Ion Space Propulsion Lab
May 28, 2004: Sustainable Futures Receives $3.6 Million
Feb 27, 2004: Professor Mahesh Gupta's Research Garners NSF Award
Jul 5, 2003: Product Modularity--The Link Between Product Architecture and Product Life-Cycle Costs
Dec 13, 2002: Ford Gift Opens Door to Nanotech Research



Michigan Technological University is an equal opportunity educational institution/equal opportunity employer.